What is the best restaurant POS system in 2026?
Six restaurant POS systems compared on what you really pay, how hard they are to leave, and how they hold up on a Friday rush.
The short answer: for most small restaurants, start with Square. It's $0 a month, there's no contract, and you own the hardware. For a busy full-service room, Lightspeed packs floor plans, online ordering and order-at-table into its $69 Starter plan. Toast has the deepest restaurant features, but read its contract before you compare prices. And if you only need a café counter, Loyverse is free.
A restaurant POS runs your floor plan, fires tickets to the kitchen and closes out tabs. Its monthly fee is the smallest part of the bill. Card processing, kitchen screens billed per device, and multi-year contracts decide what you really pay. We compared six systems on those costs, their contract terms and what owners report after the sale.
Some links may be affiliate links. The ranking is editorial: a sponsored spot is always labeled on its card, and no affiliate link changes a score.
The best restaurant POS for your kind of service
$0/month, no contract, hardware you own
Busy full-service roomFloor plans and online orders from $69/month
Most restaurant featuresBuilt only for restaurants; check the contract
iPad table serviceFrom $69/month, 24/7 support included
Café or food truckFree register with kitchen display
Hardware firstGreat terminals, contracts vary by reseller
6 restaurant POS systems, side by side
The full ranking, with the contract terms each vendor shows on its own pages. Monthly prices are before card fees, which usually cost more than the software. Click a system to read its card.
| Best for | Contract terms | Free plan | Team size | Visit | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Square | Most small restaurants | No long-term contract | 4.0/5 | $0/mo + 2.6% + 15¢; Plus $49/mo | ✓ | Cafés, small dining rooms | Visit → |
| 2 | Lightspeed | Busy full-service room | Contract not stated: ask | 3.9/5 | Starter $69/mo; Essential $189/mo | — | Full service, bars, groups | Visit → |
| 3 | Toast | Most restaurant features | Multi-year terms reported | 3.6/5 | From $0/mo with card fees | — | Full and quick service | Visit → |
| 4 | TouchBistro | iPad table service | Contract not stated: ask | 3.3/5 | From $69/mo; bundle $119/mo | — | Sit-down restaurants | Visit → |
| 5 | Loyverse | Café or food truck | No contract, free software | 3.3/5 | Free; add-ons from $7/mo | ✓ | Counter service | Visit → |
| 6 | Clover | Hardware first | Reseller terms, often 36 months | 2.9/5 | From $0/mo on some plans | — | Owners who buy direct | Visit → |
Prices in US dollars before tax, read on each vendor's official page in 2026.
How we compared and scored
We started from an owner's question: which POS gets me through a full Saturday without trapping me in a contract or a card rate I can't change? For each system we read the official pricing page: plans, per-device fees, hardware and what's left unpublished. Then we read recent owner reviews and community threads, starting with the angriest ones, because that's where contracts, payout holds and support gaps show up.
Scores are the same across all our POS rankings: a system keeps its score from one page to the next. Compliance covers payment security and the tax-compliance proof each vendor shows in the European markets where it sells, because we score the same tool the same way everywhere.
- Real costSoftware, card fees on your volume, kitchen screens and hardware over three years.25%
- Compliance and payment securityPayment security plus the tax-compliance proof the vendor publishes where it sells.20%
- FeaturesFloor plans, kitchen routing, handhelds, online ordering, multi-location.20%
- Freedom (hardware, contract, payments)Contract length, termination fees, hardware you own, choice of processor.20%
- Support and reliabilityPayout holds, outages and support during service, from owner reviews.15%
Some links may be affiliate links. The ranking is editorial: a sponsored spot is always labeled on its card, and no affiliate link changes a score.
Square
Square is where most new restaurants should start. The Free plan costs nothing a month, and you pay 2.6% + 15¢ on each in-person card payment. There's no long-term contract on any plan, and the hardware is yours: you buy it, you keep it, you can walk away.
The real question is when Plus pays for itself. Plus costs $49 a month per location and drops the in-person rate to 2.5% + 15¢. That 0.1-point saving only covers the $49 once you take about $49,000 a month by card (our math). Below that, stay on Free unless you need what Plus adds for a dining room. Premium, at $149 a month, cuts the rate to 2.4% + 15¢ and starts to make sense around $74,500 a month by card. Kitchen screens cost extra per device: $30 each on Plus, $20 on Premium.
Watch the plan names. Square for Restaurants Plus is now a legacy plan that new sellers can't join, and owners in Square's own community describe support agents quoting different prices for the same setup, including per-device fees. Get the plan name and every per-device charge in writing before your trial ends.
The other risk is frozen funds. Owners describe payouts held "under review" after an unusually big night. If your business runs on catering or private events, keep a cash buffer.
- No long-term contract on any plan
- Hardware you buy and keep
- Kitchen display at $30 per device on Plus
- Same company for POS, payments and payroll
- ✓$0 to start, no contract
- ✓Rates and plans published
- ✓Easy to set up without a reseller
- ✗Payout holds reported after big nights
- ✗Support answers vary on restaurant plans
- ✗Per-device fees add up for KDS and kiosks
The safest first POS for a small US restaurant: no contract, published rates, hardware you own. Run the $49,000 math before you upgrade.
Lightspeed
Lightspeed Restaurant gives you more out of the box than any entry plan here. Starter costs $69 a month and already includes floor plans, menu management, online ordering, order-and-pay at the table, multi-location management, advanced inventory and raw API access. Essential costs $189 and Premium $399. A kitchen display costs $30 per screen per month on every plan.
Read the payments line carefully. Starter comes with default integrated payments; Essential and Premium get "custom" rates, and the page doesn't publish the percentages. That's where your monthly bill is really decided, so ask for the rate in writing, premium cards included.
Lightspeed also keeps working offline in the markets where it documents it, and it publishes tax-compliance documents in Europe for its restaurant POS. In the US, the practical point is simpler: the page doesn't state a contract length, so ask what happens if you cancel in month six.
Merchant reviews from Lightspeed's European restaurant customers praise the onboarding and describe a weaker follow-up: prices at signup higher than the demo, and slow support after training. Keep every quote.
- Floor plans and online ordering from Starter
- Order and pay at the table
- Multi-location management on every plan
- Raw API access
- ✓Most complete entry plan in this ranking
- ✓Strong for multi-room dining
- ✓Published plan prices
- ✗Card rates not published above Starter
- ✗KDS billed per screen
- ✗Contract terms not stated on the page
The pick for a busy dining room that needs tables, coursing and online orders in one system. Negotiate the card rate before you sign.
Toast
Toast only builds for restaurants, and it shows: table maps, kitchen routing, handhelds for servers and online ordering are the core of the product. On features alone, nothing here beats it.
The catch is the deal structure. Toast lists an entry point at $0 a month, but the $0 route usually means a higher card rate for as long as the contract runs. Owners describe one- to three-year agreements with payment processing locked to Toast, and surprise line items on receipts. A 0.5-point gap on $40,000 a month of card sales is $200 a month, or $2,400 a year (our math): often more than the hardware.
Ask for two quotes side by side, one with hardware paid upfront and one at $0, and compare the total over the full contract term, early termination fee included.
- Built only for restaurants
- Server handhelds and kitchen routing
- Online ordering in the same system
- ✓Deepest restaurant feature set here
- ✓One vendor for POS, payments and ordering
- ✓Strong for high-volume rooms
- ✗Multi-year contracts reported
- ✗Payments tied to Toast
- ✗$0 plans can cost more over time
The most restaurant-native system, if you read the contract like a lease. Never compare Toast's monthly price without its card rate.
TouchBistro
TouchBistro runs on iPad and is built around the dining room: floor plans, table management, staff management and 24/7 support are in the base Point of Sale plan at $69 a month. That price doesn't include hardware or payment processing.
The Essentials Bundle, from $119 a month, adds restaurant-grade hardware and integrated payments, with processing fees on top. Kitchen display, inventory, online ordering, loyalty and reservations are separate add-ons, so a full setup costs more than either headline price. TouchBistro charges no commission on online orders, which matters if delivery apps eat your margin.
The page doesn't list contract length or card rates. Ask for both, and price the add-ons you actually need before you compare it with Lightspeed.
- iPad POS with floor plans in the base plan
- 24/7 support included
- No commission on online orders
- ✓Clear entry prices
- ✓Designed for table service
- ✓Hardware bundled in Essentials
- ✗Key features are paid add-ons
- ✗Contract and card rates not published
- ✗iPad-only
A solid iPad option for a sit-down restaurant. Add up the add-ons first: the $69 plan is a starting point, not a full system.
Loyverse
If you run a coffee counter or a food truck and every dollar counts, Loyverse's free software covers the register, a kitchen display, a customer-facing screen, loyalty and basic inventory. You only pay for add-ons, per store: unlimited sales history at $7 a month, employee management and advanced inventory at $25 a month each.
It isn't built for a full dining room, and your card fees depend on the processor you connect, so the true monthly cost is set somewhere else. Its tax-compliance proof in European markets isn't documented, which is why its compliance score is the lowest here.
- Free register with kitchen display
- Add-ons priced per store
- Works with the processor you choose
- ✓$0 software for a counter business
- ✓No hardware lock-in
- ✓Pay only for what you add
- ✗Light on table service
- ✗Card cost depends on your processor
- ✗Few restaurant-specific tools
The cheapest way to run a café or truck register. Move up to Square or Lightspeed the day you add tables and servers.
Clover
Clover's hardware is among the best-looking on any counter, and its restaurant software covers tables, tabs and kitchen tickets. It ranks last because of how it's sold: often through banks and independent resellers, each with its own price, rate and contract.
That's the source of most complaints. Owners describe 36-month agreements tied to hardware, early termination fees, rates different from the ones promised, and account holds. If you want Clover, buy the hardware outright, ask who your processor is, and get the termination clause in writing.
- Polished countertop and handheld hardware
- Tables, tabs and kitchen tickets
- Large app marketplace
- ✓Hardware quality
- ✓Broad feature set
- ✓Widely available
- ✗Reseller contracts vary widely
- ✗Early termination fees reported
- ✗Support record is the weakest here
Only if you control the contract. The terminal is great; the deal around it is what goes wrong.
Read the POS contract like a lease
In the US, nobody certifies your register for tax purposes the way France or Spain do. Your real risk is commercial: a contract you can't leave, a card rate that creeps up, or hardware that only works with one processor.
Contract length
Square states no long-term contract. Reseller deals for Clover and some Toast agreements run one to three years. Ask for the term and the early termination fee in writing.
The $0 hardware trap
Free hardware is usually paid back through a higher card rate. On $40,000 a month of card sales, half a point is $2,400 a year. Ask for an upfront-hardware quote too.
Per-device fees
Kitchen screens cost $30 per device on Square Plus and $30 per screen on Lightspeed. A kitchen with three stations adds $90 a month before you sell anything.
Locked processing
Toast and Square tie the POS to their own payments. Loyverse lets you connect a processor. If you want to shop rates later, that freedom is worth a lot.
Payout holds
Owners on several platforms describe funds held after an unusual night. Keep two weeks of payroll in reserve and warn your provider before a big catering order.
Offline mode
Ask in the demo what still works without internet, card payments included, and how sales sync back. Keep a phone hotspot ready.
- Get the plan name, rate and every per-device fee in writing
- Ask for the termination clause before the demo ends
- Compare $0 hardware against upfront hardware over the full term
- Check who your processor is and whether you can change it
- Test the offline mode during the trial
Five mistakes that cost restaurants thousands
These come up again and again in owner reviews and community threads. Each one has a simple fix.
The mistakes
Upgrading to a paid plan too early
Easy to fixSquare Plus saves 0.1 point on in-person cards for $49 a month. Below about $49,000 a month by card, you pay more than you save, unless you need its dining-room features.
- Break-even
- ~$49,000/month by card
Comparing monthly prices without the card rate
A system at $0 a month with a rate half a point higher costs $200 more each month on $40,000 of card sales. Always compare total monthly cost: software, devices and processing.
Forgetting per-device fees
Kitchen screens, kiosks and extra terminals are billed one by one. Three kitchen screens on Lightspeed add $90 a month on any plan.
Signing up for a plan you can't keep
Square for Restaurants Plus is now a legacy plan. Owners report different quotes from different support agents. Screenshot the pricing page and get the plan name in writing.
Skipping the exit clause
Owners describe 36-month reseller contracts and fees after cancelling. Read the termination clause before you sign, not after a slow winter.
Fill more tables once your POS runs
Your POS records the sales. These guides help bring guests back.
Restaurant POS questions, answered
What is the best POS system for a small restaurant?
Square, for most small restaurants: $0 a month, no contract, and hardware you own. If you run a busy full-service room, Lightspeed's $69 Starter plan includes floor plans and online ordering.
How much does a restaurant POS system cost per month?
Software runs from $0 (Square Free, Loyverse) to $69 for Lightspeed or TouchBistro entry plans, and $189 to $399 for larger Lightspeed plans. Card processing usually costs more than the software: 2.6% + 15¢ on $30,000 of card sales in 1,200 payments is $960 a month (our math).
Is Toast or Square better for restaurants?
Toast has more restaurant features; Square is cheaper and has no long-term contract. If you want to keep the freedom to leave, start with Square. If you run a high-volume room and accept a multi-year deal, get a Toast quote with the card rate included.
Do restaurant POS systems work offline?
Most do in part, but what keeps working varies. Ask whether card payments still go through without internet, and how sales sync back. Keep a phone hotspot as a backup.
Should I lease or buy POS hardware?
Buy if you can. Leased or $0 hardware is usually paid back through a higher card rate or a long contract. Compare both quotes over the full term.
Can I use an iPad as a restaurant POS?
Yes. TouchBistro, Square and Lightspeed all run on iPad. Check whether the iPad is included and whether the app keeps taking orders if Wi-Fi drops.
What does a kitchen display system cost?
On Square Plus, $30 per device per month ($20 on Premium); on Lightspeed, $30 per screen per month on every plan. Loyverse includes a kitchen display in its free software.