What's the best queue management system for a bank in 2026?
Walk-ins, advisor appointments, self-service and video: what a branch network actually needs to buy.
A bank lobby isn't a store line. Two flows cross at the door: the walk-in who needs a teller for a deposit or a card issue, and the member with a booked meeting about a loan. Your system has to sort them on arrival, call each one to the right desk, and push anything an ATM or a self-service kiosk can handle away from the counter. It also has to talk to your core banking system and your CRM, across dozens or hundreds of branches.
The short answer. ESII has the cleanest security file (ISO 27001, SaaS or on your own servers) and a kiosk that puts the customer on video with a remote advisor. Qmatic is the long-standing name and still installs on premises. Wavetec runs the biggest networks, with 1,000+ Banorte branches in Mexico. Coconut Software is the pick for US and Canadian credit unions. Q-nomy ties appointments and queues to the CRM. Qwaiting and Skiplino publish their prices.
None of the five specialists lists a price: everything goes through a quote. And the problem isn't solved yet. In Spain, one bank customer in four still stands in line at a branch.
Our ranking is editorial: a sponsored spot is always labeled on its card, and no affiliate link changes a score.
The best bank queue system for your network
ISO 27001, SaaS or on-premises, video kiosk
Best for on-premises hostingOrchestra on your servers, or Qmatic Cloud
Best for 300+ branchesBanorte, Bank of Punjab, WhatsApp queuing
Best for credit unions200+ financial institutions, lobby and appointments
Best for CRM-linked queues137 branches at Banca di Asti
Best published pricing$249 to $649 (period not stated), cloud or on-site
7 bank queue management systems side by side
This ranking is for retail banking and branch network leaders, member experience managers at credit unions, and the IT teams who sign off on them. Every system here runs a queue inside a branch (a ticket or phone check-in, a call to a teller or an advisor's office) and shows a banking offer. If you run a store or a public office, two other rankings fit better, linked at the bottom.
| Best for | What sets it apart | Free plan | Team size | Visit | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ESII | Best overall for a regulated bank | Video kiosk, ISO 27001 | 4.4/5 | Quote only | — | Regional and mutual banks | Visit → |
| 2 | Qmatic | Best for on-premises hosting | Orchestra on-prem or cloud | 4.2/5 | Quote only (demo) | — | Large branch networks | Visit → |
| 3 | Wavetec | Best for 300+ branches | WhatsApp, self-service, KYC | 4.1/5 | Quote only | — | Very large networks | Visit → |
| 4 | Coconut Software | Best for credit unions | Lobby, appointments, core link | 4.0/5 | Quote only | — | US and Canadian credit unions | Visit → |
| 5 | Q-nomy | Best for CRM-linked queues | Q-Flow wired to the CRM | 3.9/5 | Quote only | — | Regional and cooperative banks | Visit → |
| 6 | Qwaiting | Best published pricing | Core banking connector | 3.8/5 | $249 (5 accounts, period not stated) | — | Small banks, a few branches | Visit → |
| 7 | Skiplino | Best for a virtual branch | Video virtual branch | 3.7/5 | $299/mo per branch, billed annually | — | Pilots on a few branches | Visit → |
Scores use five weighted criteria, explained in the method. Qwaiting and Skiplino are the only vendors here with public prices.
Is your tool missing from this page? Email us: hello@hackceleration.com
How we compared and scored
The core rule: the system runs a queue inside a bank branch (a paper or mobile ticket, a call to a teller line or an advisor) and the vendor shows a banking offer or a named bank customer, deployed across several branches. Waitwhile and Qminder show neither, so they sit in other options, unscored.
Branch features weigh most (30%): kiosk and mobile check-in, teller calling, advisor appointments, video, routing to self-service. Bank references and proven scale come next (25%). Security and integration count for 20%: ISO 27001, cloud versus on-premises, links to the core banking system and the CRM. Field feedback weighs 15% and price 10%, because five of the seven vendors don't publish one.
We compared each vendor's banking pages and case studies, a French banking-industry study on branch reception, customer surveys in France and Spain, and branch complaints from three continents. The same issues keep coming back: tickets handed out late, which fakes the wait time on screen; kiosks out of paper; one teller window open for a full lobby.
- Branch featuresKiosk, mobile check-in, teller and advisor calling, appointments, video, self-service routing.30%
- Bank references and scaleNamed bank customers, branch counts, proven large rollouts.25%
- Security and integrationISO 27001, cloud or on-prem, core banking and CRM links.20%
- Readable pricingPublic price, trial, what the quote covers.10%
- Field feedbackUser reviews, branch complaints, outages.15%
No affiliate link changes a score or a rank.
Appointment-only, or a real queue at the branch door?
Plenty of banks have nudged members toward booked meetings. That doesn't kill the walk-in line: cash, card problems and people who never open the app still show up. A banking-industry study on branch reception in France found that each branch runs reception its own way, and the branch manager usually sets how often and how it's staffed.
Reception models you'll see
Dedicated reception hours, a greeting kiosk or ATM area, a shared or fixed reception desk, and sometimes a staffer whose only job is greeting. Pick software that fits your model. A kiosk is useless if nobody calls the numbers.
Advisor appointments
For a loan or an investment meeting, the member books online, then checks in on arrival. ESII, Qmatic, Coconut and Q-nomy run both flows in one tool, so the advisor sees who's waiting and walk-ins don't get lost. Asking the visit reason at check-in also preps the conversation.
Routing to self-service
Part of every line is people who could use a machine. Wavetec puts self-service (cash and check deposits, card issuing, bill payment) in the same journey as the queue. Elsewhere, the kiosk does the routing, if you set up the visit reasons well.
- Mostly appointments: make sure members check in on arrival and the wait is measured from that moment.
- Lots of walk-ins: you need tickets, a calling screen and visit reasons.
- Teller windows overloaded: pick a tool that routes to self-service.
- Short on advisors in some branches: look at video from a kiosk (ESII) or a virtual branch (Skiplino).
A vendor publishes prices or lands a new bank? Get the update
ESII
ESII is a French vendor claiming 20,000+ installations in 50+ countries, with finance as one of its sectors. Its banking offer covers the whole visit: a mobile ticket from a QR code, the bank's website or its app, booking in branch or by video, then a satisfaction survey. Its touchscreen welcome kiosk can start a video call, and its remote reception kiosk connects the customer with an advisor elsewhere, plugging into banking systems.
On security it has the clearest file of the ranking: ISO 27001 certified, GDPR compliant, a 99.9% uptime SLA, and both SaaS and on-prem. If your security team won't let some data leave the building, that matters.
References are named. Crédit Agricole Provence Côte d'Azur says it rolled out 34 branches on its own. Banque Cantonale de Fribourg, a Desjardins credit union in Quebec, International Bank of Azerbaijan and BSIC in Côte d'Ivoire also appear; at BSIC, kiosks, video and smartphone queuing cut waiting, though the case study gives no figure.
- Video kiosk to a remote advisor
- ISO 27001, SaaS or on-prem
- 34 branches rolled out by the bank itself
- ✓Clearest security file in the ranking
- ✓The full visit in one tool
- ✓Your choice of hosting
- ✗No public pricing
- ✗Results claimed without numbers
- ✗Few North American references
The first call for a bank with strict hosting rules. Before you sign, ask to speak with a bank that did its own rollout, such as Crédit Agricole PCA: a network that deployed 34 branches itself tells you more than any demo.
Qmatic
Qmatic, from Sweden, has a retail banking guide built around managing visits and appointments across branch offices. It ships two ways: Qmatic Orchestra on your servers or Qmatic Cloud as SaaS. You assemble modules (Appointments, Counter, Journey Manager, Concierge, Digital Signage, Mobile Ticket, Integrations) and can add AI modules such as a live dashboard.
Its best-known bank reference is Spanish: Bankia, since absorbed by CaixaBank, used Qmatic for its fast-service branch network, and EspañaDuero ran it too. Qmatic also has case studies with Capitec Bank in South Africa and a large Swedish bank-insurer, and Ithmaar Bank in Bahrain built its app on Qmatic web services.
The catch shows up in user reviews: support gets called weak, and setup long and difficult. Across a hundred branches, that weighs as much as the feature list.
- Orchestra on-prem or Qmatic Cloud
- Pick-and-choose modules
- Bank references on three continents
- ✓On-prem option, rare among newer vendors
- ✓Very broad module catalog
- ✓Integrations built for existing systems
- ✗Support and setup draw complaints
- ✗No bank named on its banking page
- ✗Prices only after a demo
A safe pick if IT wants to host the queue in-house. Put the per-branch install time and the support level in the contract, because that's where Qmatic customers push back.
Wavetec
Wavetec has the widest banking lineup here: virtual queuing, WhatsApp queuing, a mobile app and paper tickets, online or WhatsApp appointments, digital signage, feedback and analytics. Add self-service kiosks (cash and check deposits, card issuing, bill payment) and KYC with facial recognition, liveness checks and document scanning.
Its rollouts are the biggest on the market. Banorte runs Wavetec in 1,000+ retail branches in Mexico, and Wavetec presents WhatsApp queuing in 975 of them. Bank of Punjab deployed an enterprise queue system across 370 branches. Banque Saudi Fransi uses it in 79 branches, with dual-printer kiosks and a web teller terminal; Wavetec reports fewer complaints there, without a number. Interbank in Peru moved to the cloud on 120 branches.
The gap for a US bank: no US or Canadian bank reference, and the banking page doesn't say whether the system runs on-prem or in the cloud.
- 1,000+ Banorte branches
- Queuing and booking over WhatsApp
- Self-service and KYC in one flow
- ✓Only vendor covering queue, self-service and KYC
- ✓Proven on huge networks
- ✓Mobile-first channels
- ✗No US bank reference found
- ✗Hosting model not stated on the page
- ✗No public pricing
The pick for networks in the hundreds of branches, especially if you want to move teller traffic to machines. Ask early where the data lives and which references are closest to your market.
Coconut Software
Coconut Software builds for banks and credit unions, and says 200+ financial institutions use it. Its lobby management shows live wait times in the branch, on a kiosk or on your website, texts or emails members when it's their turn, asks questions at check-in, and can turn a spot in line into a booked appointment. An API is included.
Coconut says it integrates with your core banking system, CRM and online banking. Its strongest proof is on appointments: CU SoCal credits them with a 12% lift in funded loans.
The limits: Coconut shows no banking offer in other languages, and it doesn't sell kiosks or calling screens the way ESII or Qmatic do. Check what hardware you'll need from someone else.
- Built for banks and credit unions
- Live wait times on site, kiosk and web
- Turn a walk-in into an appointment
- ✓Vocabulary and workflows fit credit unions
- ✓Core, CRM and online banking integrations
- ✓A real outcome on funded loans
- ✗No public pricing
- ✗No offer in other languages
- ✗Less hardware than queue specialists
The first demo to book for a US or Canadian credit union. Ask for the core integration list in writing, and price the kiosks and screens separately.
Q-nomy
Q-nomy, around since 2002, sells Q-Flow: queuing, appointments and customer communication for banks. Meetings can run over Zoom, Teams or Google Meet with Outlook calendars. Per the vendor, Scotiabank uses it for pre-booking and e-tickets inside its app, and Texas Tech Federal Credit Union runs it through NCR.
Its most detailed case is Italian. Banca di Asti wired Q-Flow into its CRM across 137 branches in Piedmont and Lombardy: queuing, kiosk, routing, signage and reporting. The stated goal was to lighten teller work so staff could focus on advisory sales. No outcome figure is published. Banco Promerica and Davivienda Honduras are also customers.
One method note: Q-nomy's official pages blocked us during our comparison. The facts above come from its case studies and page excerpts.
- Q-Flow wired into the bank's CRM
- Zoom, Teams or Meet appointments
- 137 branches at Banca di Asti
- ✓Best-documented queue and CRM link
- ✓Long banking track record
- ✓Video built into booking
- ✗Official pages hard to reach
- ✗No published outcome numbers
- ✗Pricing on request
A strong candidate if your real goal is selling in the branch rather than shortening the line. Ask to see the advisor's screen tied to your CRM, with a walk-in arriving.
Qwaiting
Qwaiting has a full banking page. You manage several branches from one central platform, notify customers by SMS, email or WhatsApp, and connect it to your existing core banking system. It runs in the cloud or on-site for banks that need full control of their infrastructure, and claims 10,000+ customers in 30+ countries.
It also publishes prices: $249 for 5 accounts, $349 for 10, $399 for 20, $649 for 50, with a 14-day trial and two months free when you pay yearly. The page doesn't say whether these prices are monthly, so get it in writing on the quote. An account is a staff seat that calls customers. Count tellers and advisors, not branches.
The drawback is plain: no bank customer is named on its page. You're buying a feature list, not a reference.
- Public prices from $249 to $649
- Cloud or on-site
- Core banking connection advertised
- ✓You can budget without a quote
- ✓14-day trial
- ✓WhatsApp notifications
- ✗No named bank customer
- ✗No advisor video highlighted
- ✗Seat-based plans cap at 50
A good starting point for a small bank pricing a project on its own. Use the 14-day trial with IT to find out what the core banking connection actually does.
Skiplino
Skiplino targets retail and corporate banking, to manage branch traffic and customer flow. Its most interesting banking product is Virtual Branch: secure video appointments and digital queues, with no physical branch behind them.
Prices are public, per location per month, billed annually: $299 for queuing with 10 users, $399 with 20, and $549 for Virtual Branch with 15 users. Setup is free, the trial runs 7 days with no credit card, and monthly billing costs slightly more.
Do the math first. Billed per location, Skiplino gets expensive on a big network, and like Qwaiting, it names no bank customer.
- Virtual branch with video appointments
- Public per-location pricing
- Free setup
- ✓A pilot can start within days
- ✓Video without a physical branch
- ✓No installation fee
- ✗Costs climb with each branch
- ✗No named bank customer
- ✗Monthly billing costs more
Handy for a two- or three-branch pilot, or to add video appointments without replacing everything. Past ten branches, compare the yearly total with a quote from a specialist.
What a bank queue system really costs
ESII, Qmatic, Wavetec, Coconut and Q-nomy don't publish prices. Only lighter tools show a rate card. That gives you a ballpark for the software, never for kiosks or screens.
Pricing per seat
Qwaiting charges by account: $249 for 5, $649 for 50 (billing period not stated). A credit union with six branches, two tellers and two advisors each, has 24 seats, so it lands on the $649 Custom plan for every branch combined.
Pricing per branch
Skiplino charges each location: $299 a month for queuing, billed annually, or $3,588 a year per branch. Six branches cost $21,528 a year; fifty cost $179,400. Fine for a pilot, steep for a large network.
What the quote should cover
Specialist quotes bundle software, kiosks, screens, install and maintenance. With Qmatic and ESII you choose cloud or on-prem, which moves the hosting cost around rather than removing it. On texting, check coverage: Qminder includes SMS only in the US, UK and Canada.
- Is the price per branch, per seat or per customer served?
- Are kiosks, screens and their maintenance in the quote?
- Are SMS and WhatsApp messages included, and how many?
- Cloud or your servers, and who pays for hosting?
- Is the core banking and CRM connection billed separately?
- Can you export your wait-time history when the contract ends?
Other options worth knowing
These tools come up in bank queue searches. They aren't ranked: no banking offer, or a product that only covers part of the job.
Other options
Qminder: public pricing, no banking page
General purposeQminder lists Business at $869 a month for 25 users and Premium at $1,149 for 50, with a 14-day trial. It claims SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA, but keeps SAML single sign-on for Premium and up, which a bank's IT team will ask for. It publishes no banking page. If you text customers, compare costs on our business SMS ranking.
- Price
- $869/mo (25 users)
- Catch
- SSO on Premium only
Waitwhile: free to start, built for retail
General purposeWaitwhile starts free (50 visits, one location), then Starter from $31 and Business from $55 a month, 20% less when billed yearly. We found no banking page and no bank reference. It can work for a single branch that wants phone tickets, not for a network that needs a core banking link.
- Price
- Free, then $31 and $55/mo
- Catch
- No bank reference
Auriga: the queue seen from the ATM side
ATM softwareAuriga makes software for bank ATMs. Its customer management module, announced in 2017, lets customers book an advisor or a machine from their phone, shows the queue and teller windows, and gives the branch staffing dashboards. It's an add-on for banks already on Auriga's ATM software, not a full queue system, and the announcement is old.
- For
- Banks on Auriga ATM software
- Price
- Quote only
Pitfalls that sink a branch queue
These come from branch customer complaints and user reviews. None is a software bug. They're settings and habits.
Pitfalls
A wait time on screen that lies
ReportingA Nedbank customer in South Africa wrote that he "was NOT issued with a ticket when I entered the bank". The screen showed a 3-minute wait "when in actual fact I had been there for some 35 minutes". Late tickets wreck your stats and your complaint replies. Start the clock at check-in (kiosk or QR code), not at printing.
- Fix
- Measure from arrival
The kiosk out of paper
HardwareReviews on French branch listings keep repeating the same scene: no paper in the ticket machine, a broken ATM, twenty minutes with nobody at reception. Ask the vendor for a low-paper alert, and keep a mobile ticket as backup.
- Fix
- Paper alert plus mobile ticket
One teller for a full lobby
StaffingA letter to a New Zealand daily described thirty minutes in line, five people ahead, a single teller window. No software fixes that. Use visit reasons to move simple jobs to self-service, and send the overflow hours to the branch manager.
- Fix
- Route to self-service
Numbers called out of order
TrustCustomers of a Turkish bank complained about a broken queue device: people were no longer served in ticket order. To a customer, that looks like favoritism. Write a fallback procedure, and show separate lines (appointments, tellers, business) so the order stays readable.
- Fix
- Separate, visible lines
A rollout that drags
ProjectSupport and setup difficulty are the most common complaints about Qmatic. ESII pitches the opposite: Crédit Agricole PCA rolled out 34 branches itself. Ask each vendor for the average time per branch, and who does the work.
- Fix
- Time per branch in the contract
SMS billed outside North America
BudgetIf you have branches abroad, read the fine print. Qminder includes SMS only in the US, UK and Canada and says additional fees may apply elsewhere. Price texts per country before you promise customers a "your turn is next" message.
- Fix
- SMS price per country
Wiring your queue into the CRM with a workflow? Get our next automation guides
Keep going
These pages pick up where this one stops, on banking customer service and reception.
Bank phone systems compared.
You handle complaints born in the branchBank complaint managementTools compared.
You want every queue tool firstQueue management softwareThe general ranking, public prices.
You also run a public officeGovernment queue managementCity halls and agencies.
You want screens in the branchDigital signage softwareScreen software compared.
You text customersBusiness SMSSending platforms compared.
Your questions about bank queue management
What is a queue management system in a bank?
It's the software that checks customers in, gives them a number on paper or on their phone, and calls them to a teller or an advisor. Bank versions add appointments, video and links to the core banking system, as ESII, Qmatic and Coconut do.
Should a branch go appointment-only?
Not if walk-ins still come. In Spain, 25.9% of bank customers still queue in branches, and 32.6% at Santander. Keep a walk-in line and save appointments for advisor meetings.
Can the queue connect to our core banking system and CRM?
Yes, with specialists. Banca di Asti wired Q-nomy's Q-Flow into its CRM across 137 branches. Coconut lists core, CRM and online banking integrations, and Qwaiting advertises a core banking connection. Always ask for integrations already shipped, not planned.
Cloud or on-premises for bank data?
It depends on your security policy. Qmatic (Orchestra), ESII and Qwaiting offer both. ESII is ISO 27001 certified. Wavetec's banking page doesn't say, so ask in writing.
How do you measure the real wait time?
From arrival, not from ticket printing. A South African customer saw 3 minutes on screen after a 35-minute wait, because his ticket came late. Check-in at the door, by kiosk or QR code, fixes that.
Can an advisor serve a branch customer remotely?
Yes. ESII's kiosk can start a video call with a remote advisor. Skiplino sells a Virtual Branch at $549 a month per location with 15 users, and Q-nomy runs video meetings over Zoom, Teams or Meet.
What works for a small credit union?
Start with Coconut if you want a credit union specialist, or a priced tool if budget rules. Qwaiting lists $249 for 5 accounts (its page doesn't state the billing period) with a 14-day trial; Skiplino costs $299 per branch per month, billed annually, with a 7-day trial and no card.
How many branches can these vendors handle?
Public references reach 1,000+ branches at Banorte with Wavetec and 370 at Bank of Punjab. Banca di Asti runs 137 branches on Q-nomy, and Crédit Agricole PCA 34 on ESII.