How much does ManyChat cost in 2026?
The real price of the Instagram, Messenger and WhatsApp automation tool, plan by plan, including what the pricing page leaves out.
Short answer: ManyChat is free up to 25 active contacts a month. After that, four paid plans (Essential, Pro, Business, Advanced) are priced on how many people interact with you that month, in US dollars before tax, billed monthly or yearly. Your real bill is that plan, plus overage contacts, plus the WhatsApp messages Meta charges separately. We compared the plan grid, Meta's rules and user complaints to show you what you'll actually pay.
The ManyChat button on this page is a partner link: your plan costs exactly the same, and it helps us keep these prices current. Rankings are editorial: a sponsored spot is always labeled on its card, and no affiliate link changes a score.
The five ManyChat plans and what each one unlocks
Since 2026, ManyChat no longer sells stored contacts. It sells active contacts: anyone who sends or receives at least one message through ManyChat in a month, counted once. The counter resets every month, even on a yearly plan. Each plan includes a set number of active contacts; past that, every extra contact is billed individually, and the per-contact rate drops as you move up a plan. Exact dollar amounts sit on ManyChat's official pricing page, before tax, and shift with your volume and billing cycle. We don't copy them until we can read them at the source.
USD, before tax, on manychat.com/pricing. Monthly included volumes, 2026 plans.
Free
For trying it out, not for selling
25 active contacts a month
- 25 active contacts, then sending stops until next month
- Instagram and Messenger
- 4 live automations
- “Powered by Manychat” on the first message
Essential
A small account, no AI
250 active contacts included each month
- Two channels
- No AI, no WhatsApp, SMS or email
- Highest per-contact overage on the grid
- 14-day trial
Pro
The plan most accounts pick
2,500 active contacts included each month
- Three channels, including WhatsApp, SMS and email
- AI: bundled in the 2026 grid, still a paid add-on on some accounts
- Cheaper overage than Essential
- 14-day trial
Business
For teams and larger audiences
7,500 active contacts included each month
- Unlimited channels
- Priority support
- Cheaper per-contact overage than Pro
- Adjustable overage cap
Advanced
The largest plan
25,000 active contacts included each month
- Lowest per-contact overage
- No custom-quote plan above it
- Built for brands and agencies
- Adjustable overage cap
WhatsApp (Meta)
Billed on top, by Meta
Service messages: 1,000 free per number each month
- Paid through the ManyChat wallet
- Rate depends on category: marketing, utility, authentication
- Free for 7 days after a Click to WhatsApp ad
- Service messages billed again above 1,000 since fall 2026
Plans, included volumes, channels and AI: the 2026 grid as used in our ManyChat review. Amounts: in US dollars before tax on manychat.com/pricing, a page that blocks automated reading; check it before you pay. WhatsApp: Meta's official rate card (developers.facebook.com/docs/whatsapp/pricing), billed on top of ManyChat.
What makes the bill climb
The plan is only part of the invoice. Here's what inflates it, based on the plan grid, Meta's rules and public user complaints.
A post that takes off
An active contact is anyone you message, or who messages you, that month. A post with a comment keyword that goes viral can multiply your counter overnight. A single story reaction can count someone, and the same person reached on Instagram and then WhatsApp can count twice. Deleting contacts doesn't lower the current month's count.
Overage contacts
Past your included volume, each contact is billed individually. Essential has the highest per-contact rate on the grid: if you regularly go over, compare Essential plus overage with Pro's price on the official page; Pro also adds WhatsApp. Even on a yearly plan, overage is billed every month.
WhatsApp, paid twice
ManyChat sells the automation; Meta charges for every WhatsApp message delivered, by category and recipient country. Since fall 2026, Meta again bills service messages above 1,000 per number per month, plus utility messages sent inside the 24-hour window. None of this shows on ManyChat's pricing page.
The end of the trial
The 14-day trial on Essential and Pro drives the most public complaints: users report being charged for a full year when the trial ended, sometimes several hundred dollars. Pick monthly billing during the trial and put the end date in your calendar.
Subscribing on iPhone
A plan bought in the mobile app can only be managed from your Apple account: ManyChat support can't change or downgrade it. To move from Pro to Essential, you cancel in the App Store, wait out the paid period, then pick the other plan. That mobile plan also lacks WhatsApp, SMS and email. Subscribe in the browser.
Legacy accounts
Accounts still on the pre-2026 grid aren't moved over right away, and ManyChat's community moderators confirm legacy plans have no yearly option. If your account is older, check which grid you're on before comparing prices with a new account.
- Under 25 active contacts a month? Stay on Free.
- Often over 250 active contacts? Compare Essential plus overage with Pro on the official page.
- Want WhatsApp? Price Meta's messages separately, country by country.
- Set an overage cap in your billing settings.
- Trial on monthly, buy in the browser, never in the app.
How we built these prices
We compared the 2026 grid used in our ManyChat review, Meta's official WhatsApp rate rules, competitors' official pricing pages, answers from ManyChat community moderators and public user complaints. A dollar figure only goes on this page if it comes from the vendor's own pricing page. ManyChat's pricing page blocks automated reading, so its amounts stay there, and we give you everything else.
- ManyChat gridIncluded volumes, channels, AI, trial, overagePlans
- Meta gridCategories, free tiers, billing changesWhatsApp
- CompetitorsOne price per official page, currency and tax statedOfficial
- User reportsPublic complaints and the ManyChat communityField
We didn't open a paid account: facts come from official pages and public user reports.
What you pay for your profile
Three profiles, three plans. The plan price lives on the official page; what really moves your bill is the lines underneath.
ManyChat plan in USD before tax, plus Meta fees if you use WhatsApp.
Creator just starting
Under 25 active contacts
- Comment-to-DM on Instagram
- 4 live automations
- From the 26th contact of the month, nothing goes out
Coach or Instagram shop
A few hundred to 2,500 contacts
- AI for open questions: check whether your account bills it as an add-on
- Above 2,500 active contacts: per-contact overage
- WhatsApp available, Meta messages on top
Brand or agency
7,500 to 25,000 contacts
- Unlimited channels
- Budget WhatsApp marketing messages by country
- One login per client workspace to bill separately
Profiles built on each plan's included volume. Plan amounts: manychat.com/pricing, USD before tax. WhatsApp: Meta's per-country rates, paid on top through the ManyChat wallet.
ManyChat pricing vs other tools
The entry paid plan of five nearby tools, as each vendor shows it on its official pricing page. The models don't map one to one: ManyChat bills per active contact, Tidio and Botpress per conversation, Chatfuel in credits, Inro per activated contact, Blabla per action.
2026 entry prices, vendor currency; tax: see each card.
ManyChat
Per active contact
Paid plans: USD before tax on its page
- The deepest Instagram toolset
- WhatsApp from Pro
- Read our ManyChat review
Chatfuel
AI credits
$216 a year; tax not stated
- $20 of AI credits a month included
- WhatsApp templates at Meta's rate + 10%
- Yearly is 10% cheaper than monthly
Tidio
Per conversation
Tax not stated
- 100 billable conversations a month
- Lyro AI extra, from $32.50/month
- Read our Tidio review
Inro
Per activated contact
Tax not stated
- Free: 100 activated contacts a month
- Manual DMs don't count
- Instagram only: no WhatsApp or Messenger
Blabla
Per action
Tax not stated
- 100 actions a month
- French vendor, billed in euros
- 7-day trial, no card
Botpress
Per conversation
Tax not stated
- Free: 100 conversations a month
- General AI agent, not Instagram-first
- $25 of AI usage included
Prices read on chatfuel.com/pricing, tidio.com/pricing, inro.social/pricing, blabla.ai/pricing and botpress.com/pricing. Scores: only ManyChat (4.2/5) and Tidio (3.6/5) have a review page with us. More options: ManyChat alternatives.
So, is ManyChat expensive?
Our take after comparing: cheap while your audience is small and you stay on Instagram, pricier than expected once a post takes off or WhatsApp comes in.
Good value if…
You automate Instagram and Messenger, stay under 2,500 active contacts a month, and AI saves you from answering the same questions by hand. Pro then bundles WhatsApp, SMS and email in one plan; just check whether your account bills AI as an add-on.
Too expensive if…
Your counter spikes every month with people who never buy, or you run WhatsApp marketing at volume. In the first case, Inro or Blabla, which count differently, may cost less. In the second, look at ManyChat vs Wati.
Our advice
Start on Free, run the Essential-versus-Pro math once you pass 250 active contacts, set an overage cap, and only go yearly once your volume holds steady for two or three months.
- Go yearly only once your volume is stable.
- Upgrade mid-month during a spike: accrued overage is wiped.
- Send a test comment from a second account after every change.
- Keep Instagram and Messenger for volume, WhatsApp for messages that pay.
The license is only part of the project
Ease of use, AI, support, integrations: our 4.2/5 score.
You want something cheaperManyChat alternativesTools that count contacts differently.
You're weighing LandbotLandbot vs ManyChatWebsite chat vs social messaging.
WhatsApp is your focusBest WhatsApp chatbotsOur ranking of WhatsApp tools.
You want it built for youManyChat agencyWhat we set up in ManyChat, and how fast.
You'd rather learn itManyChat trainingOne-to-one coaching on your own use case.
Do you make a tool in this category? Email us: hello@hackceleration.com
ManyChat pricing FAQ
Is ManyChat free?
Yes, up to 25 active contacts a month, with no card, on Instagram and Messenger, and 4 live automations. At contact 26 that month, newcomers get nothing until the next month. It's a plan to try the tool, not to sell with: before 2026 the same plan allowed 1,000 contacts.How much is ManyChat per month?
It depends on your active contacts: Essential includes 250, Pro 2,500, Business 7,500 and Advanced 25,000, with each extra contact billed individually. Amounts are shown in US dollars before tax on the official pricing page, cheaper yearly than monthly. Add Meta's WhatsApp messages if you use that channel.What counts as an active contact?
Anyone who sends or receives at least one message through ManyChat in a month, counted once however many messages. The counter resets monthly, even on yearly billing. Tip: deleting contacts doesn't lower the month's count; set an overage cap in billing settings instead.Is ManyChat AI an extra cost?
It depends on your account. The 2026 grid lists AI as part of Pro and up, but several sources still describe it as a paid add-on, especially on accounts left on the legacy grid. Free and Essential don't get it. Before paying, check your billing settings for a separate AI line.Is WhatsApp included in ManyChat pricing?
The channel is, from Pro; the messages aren't. Meta bills each delivered message by category and recipient country, paid through the ManyChat wallet. Tip: messages sent within 7 days of a Click to WhatsApp ad tap are free.Should I pay for ManyChat monthly or yearly?
Yearly only once your active-contact volume is steady: the plan's monthly rate drops, but overage is still billed every month and a wrong plan locks you in for twelve months. Start monthly, watch the counter for two or three months, then switch. Legacy-grid accounts have no yearly option.What happens when I go over my plan's contacts?
On a paid plan, automations keep running and each extra active contact is billed individually, at a rate that drops on higher plans. On Free, sending stops. Tip: set an overage cap in billing, and if a spike hits, upgrade mid-month to wipe the overage already accrued.Does ManyChat offer refunds?
Billing disputes are the top theme in public reviews, mostly yearly charges at the end of the trial. Pick monthly billing during the 14-day trial, note the end date, and contact support in writing right away if you're charged for a year you didn't want.Can I downgrade from Pro to Essential?
Yes, in the browser, under billing settings. If you subscribed in the iPhone app, ManyChat can't change it: cancel in the App Store, wait for the paid period to end, then pick Essential. Legacy-grid accounts also have no yearly option.Is ManyChat worth it for a small business?
Usually yes if Instagram brings you customers and you stay near your plan's included volume: comment-to-DM and AI replies replace hours of manual messaging. If most of your contacts never buy, a tool that bills differently, or a stricter overage cap, keeps the cost in line.
Get real tool prices in your inbox
Every week, the real prices of the tools we compared, and the billing traps to avoid.
