What is the best livestock management software in 2026?
The one you'll actually fill in at the chute, with no signal, and that prices fairly for the size of your herd.
You want calving, breeding, treatments and weights in one place, not in a pocket notebook you copy out at night. Most "best of" lists on this topic are written by a vendor ranking itself, and half of them skip prices or quote old ones.
The short answer: CattleMax is the best pick for a cow-calf or registered cattle operation, from $30 a month billed yearly. Herdwatch is the easiest app to use at the chute, and the one to pick in the UK or Ireland. AgriWebb suits larger cattle and sheep operations that plan grazing. Farmbrite covers a diversified farm with several species. Breedr is built for weight gain. FarmKeep is the free start for a homestead.
We ranked these six on what matters in the barn: offline entry, species, compliance and the real price for your head count.
The ranking is editorial: a sponsored spot is always labeled on its card, and no affiliate link changes a score.
The best livestock software for your operation
Commercial plan at $30 a month, billed yearly
Easiest at the chuteWorks offline, priced by farm size
Best for grazingCattle and sheep, pay for the animals you manage
Best for mixed speciesUp to 300 animals from $29 a month
Best for weight gainEID weighing, $35 a month for 300 head
Best free startBasic plan at $0 forever
6 livestock management tools compared
The "species and offline" column tells you which herds each tool is built for and whether you can record without signal. When a vendor prices by quote or calculator, we say so instead of guessing.
| Best for | Species and offline entry | Free plan | Team size | Visit | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CattleMax | Best for cattle | Cattle only; commercial and registered herds | 4.2/5 | $30/mo, billed yearly | — | Cow-calf and seedstock, up to 2,000+ head | Visit → |
| 2 | Herdwatch | Easiest at the chute | Cattle, sheep, pasture; works offline | 4.1/5 | Priced by farm size | — | Family farms, US, UK and Ireland | Visit → |
| 3 | AgriWebb | Best for grazing | Cattle and sheep; works offline | 4.0/5 | By head count (calculator) | — | Larger grazing operations | Visit → |
| 4 | Farmbrite | Best for mixed species | All species; offline record keeping, iOS and Android | 3.9/5 | $29/mo (Livestock) | — | Small diversified farms | Visit → |
| 5 | Breedr | Best for weight gain | Beef cattle focus; offline not stated | 3.7/5 | $2/mo (50 head) | — | Finishers and backgrounders | Visit → |
| 6 | FarmKeep | Best free start | 1,200+ species and breeds | 3.6/5 | $0 (Basic) | ✓ | Homesteads and hobby farms | Visit → |
Scores on five weighted criteria: features 25%, value 20%, ease of use 20%, support 20%, integrations 15%. Prices are what each vendor shows on its US or UK site; AgriWebb is quoted from its default Australian page.
Is your tool missing from this page? Email us: hello@hackceleration.com
How we compared and scored
The top results for this search are a vendor blog that ranks its own product second, another vendor's guide with no prices at all, and directories. None of them puts offline entry, species and current prices side by side.
We read every vendor's pricing and feature pages and compared them on the jobs ranchers repeat every week: recording a calving with no signal, tracking a treatment withdrawal, sorting a group, sending records to a buyer or a vet. We also weighed what changes by country: in the UK and Ireland, syncing with the official movement systems matters more than any dashboard.
Dairy herds milked by a robot or run on collar sensors are left out on purpose: that software is usually chosen with the hardware, so we rank stand-alone herd apps you can pick on their own.
Features weigh the most, because a missed withdrawal date costs more than a subscription. Support counts as much as price, because the first season is won or lost on getting your history in.
- Features and depthCalving, breeding, health and withdrawals, weights, groups, reports.25%
- Value for moneyPrice for your head count, what's in the entry plan.20%
- Ease of useEntry at the chute, offline, by a hired hand.20%
- Customer support and assistanceTrial, onboarding, data import.20%
- Available integrationsEID readers, scales, breed associations, official systems.15%
No affiliate link changes a score or a rank.
Pick your software by the herd you run
Every tool here records calving, health and weights. The difference is who it's built for. Start with your operation, then check the price for your head count.
The profiles
Cow-calf and registered cattle: CattleMax
Profile 1CattleMax is cattle only, and it shows. The Commercial plan covers complete cattle records, pasture maps, income and expenses, and a calendar with tasks. If you sell registered animals, the Registered plan adds breed association interfaces, pedigrees, EPDs and EBVs for $41 a month billed yearly.
- Commercial
- $30/mo yearly
- Registered
- $41/mo yearly
UK and Irish farms: Herdwatch
Profile 2On the UK site, Herdwatch's free version downloads your animals from BCMS, ScotEID and NIFAIS. That alone saves typing your herd in by hand. In the US, you can sign up for a free digital calving book before you pay for Pro.
- Free tier
- Digital calving book
- Offline
- Yes
Large cattle and sheep grazing: AgriWebb
Profile 3AgriWebb lets you choose between mob management and individual animal management, and adds a grazing planning option. You enter your cattle and sheep numbers in its calculator, and you only pay for the animals you manage.
- Species
- Cattle and sheep
- Add-on
- Grazing planning
Diversified farm or homestead: Farmbrite or FarmKeep
Profile 4Goats, a few steers, laying hens and a farm stand: you need one tool for every species. Farmbrite covers up to 300 active animals from $29 a month and adds sales and expenses. FarmKeep starts free with one farm and three breeding groups.
- Paid
- Farmbrite
- Free
- FarmKeep Basic
CattleMax
CattleMax does one thing: cattle records, for commercial and registered herds. The Commercial plan covers complete cattle records, pasture maps, income and expenses, and a calendar with tasks, at $30 a month billed yearly for up to 250 active animals. Registered, at $41 a month, adds breed association interfaces, 3-generation pedigrees, embryo inventory, EPDs and EBVs.
Price follows your active head count, in tiers from 50 up to 2,000+ (250 is the tier shown first), and bigger operations talk to the Success team. Billing yearly saves about 20%. The 21-day free trial needs no credit card, every plan includes unlimited users, and only active animals count: sold, deceased and archived records don't.
The limits: if you run sheep or goats too, CattleMax won't track them. The pricing page says nothing about offline entry, so check that on your phone in the barn during the trial.
Tip: count active animals at your peak, after calving, before you pick a tier.
- Built for cattle only
- Breed association interfaces on Registered
- Price follows active head count
- ✓Breeding to expenses in one plan
- ✓21-day trial, no card
- ✓Scales up past 2,000 head
- ✗No other species
- ✗Offline entry not stated
- ✗Monthly-billing price not shown
The best all-round pick for a cattle operation. If you also run sheep or graze big mobs, AgriWebb or Herdwatch cover both.
Herdwatch
Herdwatch is an Irish herd app built for quick daily entry on a phone. It covers cow-calf, feedlot, sheep and pasture, and it works offline: you record at the chute, it syncs when you're back in range. You can try the app free before you decide.
On the US site, you can sign up for a free digital calving book. In the UK, the free version downloads your animals from BCMS, ScotEID and NIFAIS, which saves you from typing your herd in by hand.
The limit is price transparency. Pro and Pro+ are priced for your farm size, with no amount on the page. The only figure shown is a 6-month offer, labelled $49 in one place and $79 on its button: ask which one applies before you pay.
Tip: start on the free tier through calving season. You'll know within a month whether your crew actually uses it.
- Works offline
- Free digital calving book
- Imports animals from BCMS and ScotEID
- ✓Fast daily entry on a phone
- ✓Cattle, sheep and pasture
- ✓Free tier to start
- ✗No price shown for Pro
- ✗Quote needed to compare
- ✗Less depth for seedstock
The easiest app to get a crew using. For registered cattle, CattleMax goes deeper.
AgriWebb
AgriWebb is built for grazing businesses. You choose mob management or individual animal management, then one of three plans: Essentials, Compliance or Performance. Add-ons cover grazing planning and pasture data.
Pricing is by head count. You type your cattle and sheep numbers into the calculator, and it shows your yearly and monthly cost. The trial needs no credit card, and the app works offline.
The limits: only cattle and sheep. The page shows no currency code: it opens on the Australian region, ex GST, where setup packages start at $200 on top of the plan. Switch the region selector to yours first.
Tip: if you run mobs, start with mob management. Switching every animal to individual records is a big job you can do later, tag by tag.
- Mob or individual records
- Grazing planning add-on
- Works offline
- ✓Pay only for animals you manage
- ✓Trial with no card
- ✓Three plans to grow into
- ✗Cattle and sheep only
- ✗Setup from $200 (Australian page, ex GST)
- ✗No fixed price to compare
The pick for grazing-led operations. For a pure cow-calf herd, CattleMax costs less to figure out.
Farmbrite
Farmbrite is a whole-farm tool for small, diversified operations. The Livestock plans start at $29 a month for up to 300 active animals, sets or flocks of any species. Performance, at $49, goes to 500 animals with unlimited team members. Premium, at $79, handles 5,000 or more.
Health and treatment records come with Essentials; breeding and fertility start on Performance. Offline record keeping and the iOS and Android apps are included on every plan, and the trial runs 14 days with no card.
The limit is depth. A 400-cow commercial herd will find CattleMax more focused on cattle work. And the entry plan doesn't track breeding.
Do the yearly math: Essentials costs $290 a year, against $348 paid monthly, a $58 difference.
- Every species in one account
- Offline on all plans
- Sales and expenses tracked
- ✓Public prices
- ✓14-day trial, no card
- ✓iOS and Android included
- ✗Breeding from Performance only
- ✗Less cattle depth than CattleMax
- ✗300-animal cap on Essentials
The best fit for a small farm with several species. For cattle only, CattleMax goes further.
Breedr
Breedr is a performance tool. It's built around weighing animals by EID tag and keeping medicine records, so you see which animals gain and which don't. Plus costs $35 a month for 300 head, which comes to $420 a year.
The $2 tier, up to 50 head, is the cheapest paid way in this ranking to drop the paper herd book. You move up to Pro and Premium as the herd grows, to 2,000 head.
The limit is scope. Breedr is narrower than a full herd tool, and you need EID tags and a reader to get the most out of it.
Tip: weigh on the same day each month. Comparing gains from irregular weigh dates is where the numbers lie.
- EID tag weighing
- Price by head count
- Tier at $2 a month
- ✓Weight gain per animal
- ✓Treatment records
- ✓Easy to budget
- ✗Narrower than a full herd tool
- ✗Needs EID tags and reader
- ✗No crop records
The specialist for finishing cattle and lambs. For a breeding herd, CattleMax or Herdwatch cover more.
FarmKeep
FarmKeep is the only tool here with a free-forever plan. Basic covers one farm, three active breeding groups, one production type and five invoices. It also starts you on a 14-day Premium trial.
Premium costs $8 a month billed yearly, $95.99 in total, or $9.99 month to month, and removes the limits: several farms, unlimited breeding groups and production types. FarmKeep lists more than 1,200 species and breeds.
The limit is scale. Three breeding groups fill up fast on a real cattle operation, and the pricing page says nothing about offline use. Commercial operations get a custom quote.
Tip: use the Premium trial during kidding or lambing, when you need the most groups at once, to see if Basic will be enough the rest of the year.
- Free forever Basic plan
- 1,200+ species and breeds
- Premium under $100 a year
- ✓Costs nothing to start
- ✓Cheap upgrade
- ✓Fits small mixed flocks
- ✗Three breeding groups on Basic
- ✗Offline not stated
- ✗Thin for commercial herds
The right first step for a homestead. Once you're selling cattle by the trailer, move to CattleMax or Herdwatch.
What livestock software really costs
From $0 to a few hundred dollars a year for a family herd. The gap comes from your head count and from what the entry plan leaves out.
Prices you can read
Hidden costs
What it saves
- Count your peak active animals, not your average.
- Check offline entry in your barn during the trial.
- Ask which plan includes breeding records.
- Export a test file to see that your data can leave.
- In the UK or Ireland, confirm the sync with your official system.
- Note the renewal date of a yearly plan when you sign.
Six habits for your first season
Livestock software pays off on daily entry. These six habits come from the traps ranchers mention most.
The habits
Import your history before calving
BeforeWithout past calving and breeding dates, your reports mean nothing. Import your spreadsheet or old records first, then spot-check ten animals.
- Check
- 10 random animals
Build your groups on day one
BeforeHeifers, pairs, bulls, feeders: with groups, a vaccination or a weigh-in is one entry, not forty.
- Gain
- One entry per group
Give every hand a login
DuringWhoever sees the calf, records the calf. Separate logins also tell you who entered what when a number looks off.
- Rule
- See it, record it
Log the treatment when you put the bottle away
DuringProduct, dose and withdrawal period, entered on the spot. That's what lets the software warn you before an animal ships.
- Key alert
- Withdrawal date
Weigh on a fixed schedule
DuringGains only compare if weigh dates do. Pick a day each month and stick to it.
- Rhythm
- Monthly
Export your records every quarter
AfterKeep a spreadsheet copy outside the app. If you switch tools or lose access, your herd history is still yours.
- Rhythm
- Quarterly
Your herd tool is picked, what's next
Herd software doesn't run your fields or your books. These pages cover the rest of the farm.
Whole-farm tools, with real prices.
You need accounting next to itBest accounting softwareThe tools compared, prices included.
Your ranch is growing into a real businessBest ERP for small businessInventory, sales and books in one tool.
Your herd still lives in a spreadsheetSwitch from ExcelTools that replace the spreadsheet.
Your books run on QuickBooksSwitch from QuickBooksThe alternatives and their prices.
Your books run on SageSwitch from SageReplacements and migration.
Best livestock management software · FAQ
Is there free livestock management software?
Yes: FarmKeep Basic is $0 forever, for one farm and three breeding groups. Herdwatch also has a free tier with a digital calving book in the US. Both are fine for a small herd; a commercial operation will outgrow them.What is the best cattle record keeping app?
CattleMax for a cow-calf or registered herd, from $30 a month billed yearly for up to 250 head. Herdwatch if you want the simplest phone app and need offline entry at the chute.Which livestock apps work without cell service?
Herdwatch, AgriWebb and Farmbrite all state that they work offline. CattleMax and FarmKeep don't say so on their pricing pages, so test them in airplane mode during the trial.How much does cattle management software cost per year?
From $0 with FarmKeep Basic to $360 a year for CattleMax Commercial up to 250 head. Farmbrite Livestock starts at $290 a year and Breedr Plus at $420 a year for 300 head.Can I use livestock software for sheep and goats?
Yes with Farmbrite and FarmKeep, which cover many species. AgriWebb and Herdwatch handle sheep alongside cattle. CattleMax is cattle only.Does Herdwatch connect to BCMS in the UK?
Yes, for importing your herd. The UK free version lets you download your animals from BCMS, ScotEID and NIFAIS, so you don't type your herd in by hand.Is a spreadsheet enough for a small herd?
Up to a few dozen head, often yes. Once you track withdrawals, breeding dates and weights, a free tool like FarmKeep Basic gives you reminders a spreadsheet won't.